On being organized

I never use planners. I tried keeping one in the past but ended up not using it eventually. Hahaha. I got one as a gift last Christmas and now I’m wondering if I should use it.

I realized what I am really scared of is that if I actually start keeping a planner, I might lose my spontaneity and become one of those people who cannot get their life together without these kinds of organizers. Truth is, I love that part of me that can totally fit in with the chaos and the clutter. I also want to have free time and spend it the way I like, not the way I think I’m supposed to. I don’t need to organize everything and like have a plan everyday just to succeed in life.

But what’s wrong with being organized anyway, right?

Well, I have my own “anti-system”. It doesn’t always work but it doesn’t fail me either. What bothers me is that I think being organized and efficient and productive is just one of the shackles that society put around human beings just so we start acting the way they intend us to. This thing scares me and why I’m reluctant to use journals.

Balance is crucial. I think some organization is good, and some flexibility is good. Everybody has their “sweet spot”, I think. I do wish I was more organized, but on the other hand I know when all of my appointments are, and it’s not the end of the world if I don’t do anything for a whole day. Time you enjoyed wasting is never wasted time.

“Stay true to your own nature. If you like to do things in a slow and steady way, don’t let others make you feel as if you have to race. If you enjoy depth, don’t force yourself to seek breadth.” ~ Susan Cain

barbed-wire-freedom-girl-good-happiness-favim-com-227797

Leave a Reply

