A man’s personal agenda is larger than all universes combined

So I was watching this documentary Particle Fever which chronicles the launch of the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) through the eyes of six brilliant physicists as they seek to unravel the biggest mysteries of our universe.

During one of his interviews, scientist Savas Dimopoulos gave a brief background of his childhood. What he said resonated with me in different ways:

I grew up in Turkey from Greek parents and a middle-class family, and then, in the ’60s, we became refugees. We had to leave Turkey because of ethnic tensions between Greeks and Turks over the island of Cyprus, and there were a lot of political cross currents, left, right, and I was a young, impressionable 13-year-old hearing the pro-left and pro-right arguments, so one day I would be convinced that one side was right. The other day, I would be convinced the other side was right. And then I was getting confused. How could both of these things be true if they were contrary to each other? So I decided to focus on a field where the truth didn’t depend on the eloquence of the speaker. The truth was absolute.

As a little political scientist, I found myself nodding and LOL-ing. The mind of man has extended so far as to uncover the anatomy of the atom, yet we have been incapable of devising the political means to prevent the atom from turning us against each other and destroying one another.

Indeed, as Einstein once quipped, “politics is more difficult than physics.”

Leave a Reply

