A quick reminder on gratitude

Just a quick reminder to those young adult Pinoys who are about to leave the country or has left this country and are now enjoying all the perks of living in the “developed world”:

I don’t give a flying fuck what you do or how you live your lives just as long as you don’t hurl into oblivion the fact that this goddamned country supported you and your parents and your grandparents and your great grandparents to help get your asses where they are now. I don’t even give a fuck if you change citizenship or loyalty or accent. But the second you forget all this shithole of a country has done for you when you were literally nothing and no one and start talking nonconstructive shit about it, I swear by my life and my love of it that I will give you a nice, resounding high five on your fair-weather face–one that you will never forget for the rest of your “first world” existence.

I’m not one to promote nationalism because I think nationalism is a dumb idea. Call yourself an American or French or Catalonian for all I care. But ‘gratitude’–GRATITUDE IS ANOTHER THING. How you cultivate (or don’t thereof) gratitude doesn’t have anything to do or say with the intensity of nationalism you have but with the kind of a person you are.

One comment

Leave a Reply

