Analyzing the Dichotomy of Boy and Girl through Norah Jones’ “Don’t Know Why”

I waited ’til I saw the sun
I don’t know why I didn’t come
I left you by the house of fun
I don’t know why I didn’t come
I don’t know why I didn’t come

Girl translation: I like you. I really, really like you. But I’m scared. I get nervous when I’m with you. I get a heart attack at the mere presence of you. Heck, I almost fainted when you invited me out. You inviting me on a date is like the best thing that ever happened to my boring existence thus far. But I’m scared. So I waited and thought about it. I waited and thought about being with you until the sun left and rose again. But I get nervous when I’m with you. I don’t know. I don’t know why I didn’t come. I could see you standing there at that fun place where we’re supposed to meet. But I don’t know why I wasn’t there. I don’t know why I didn’t come.

Boy translation: We’ve been screwing the whole night; the sun has come, I still didn’t orgasm. You’re the only one having fun. I don’t know why I didn’t orgasm.

When I saw the break of day
I wished that I could fly away
Instead of kneeling in the sand
Catching teardrops in my hand

Girl translation: I really want to be with you, but I can’t. I shouldn’t. Being with you means so much for me, I am not just sure what it means to you. So I’m just going to leave in the morning rather than meet with you and deal with the whole thing. I’d rather just ‘fly away’ than hear your answer and have my heart broken. I love you. I really do. But I know I will never be a part of your life.

Boy translation: I really just want to fucking orgasm so now I’m on my knees, masturbating.

My heart is drenched in wine
But you’ll be on my mind
Forever

Girl translation: I’ll just grab a bottle and drown my sorrow away. I’ll drink until I’m down and I can’t remember. I’ll drink until my consciousness leaves me so I could forget… even just for a short while. But I know this cannot be. You’ll always be in me. I can never un-do you. Our memories. Your smile. And the way you beautifully rake your hair back while you laugh.

Boy translation: Ugh. I knew I shouldn’t have drank last night. We all know alcohol causes erectile problems. You’ll be forever etched in my mind as the girl who failed to make me come.

Out across the endless sea
I would die in ecstasy
But I’ll be a bag of bones
Driving down the road alone

Girl translation: You’re far away from me now, across an endless sea. I could’ve been happy if I was with you. But I’m not. Instead, I’m here on the shore, crying and drinking my loneliness away. Guess I’m doomed to suffer alone: a soulless body in this life all alone. Without someone to love. Without someone to care for me. My love has already gone away.

Boy translation: If only I could cross this seemingly neverending ‘sea’ to orgasm, I’d definitely die in ecstasy. But I fucking couldn’t. I’m nothing now but a lonely bag of bones, incapable of cumming. Damn, I really just want to come, you know?

Something has to make you run
I don’t know why I didn’t come
I feel as empty as a drum
I don’t know why I didn’t come
I don’t know why I didn’t come

Girl translation: I guess I really, really like you. But liking isn’t enough. Something is lacking. Something has to motivate me. Something to ‘make me run’. Maybe that’s why I didn’t come? I don’t know. I’m still sad and lonely and empty for not coming with you. But I’m so stupid to not know why I didn’t come.

Boy translation: You said you need to be somewhere in the morning so you ran and left without making me cum first. Sigh. Never have I thought not coming could make someone feel this empty.

Leave a Reply

